Home Railway Stations in Kolkata

Railway Stations in Kolkata

Kolkata, formerly spelled Calcutta, is the capital of West Bengal, and the third largest city in India (after Mumbai and Delhi). It still retains much British colonial, Victorian-style architecture.

There are five major railway stations serving the cities of Kolkata and Howrah. They are Howrah Railway Station, Kolkata Railway Station, Sealdah Railway Station, Shalimar Railway Station and Santragachi Junction Railway Station.

1. Howrah Railway Station

  • Station code: HWH
  • Address: Station Road, Avikar India Private Limited, Howrah
  • Size: 23 platforms, 25 tracks

Located on the west bank of the Hooghly River, Howrah Railway Station is the most important train station in Kolkata and Howrah. This railway station was opened in 1854, which is the second oldest one in India. It is also one of the largest railway stations of the country. Howrah Railway Station serves intercity lines and long-distance lines from Kolkata and Howrah to other cities in West Bengal and India.

Howrah Railway Station has two terminals. Platform numbers 1 to 16 are in the old terminal 1, serving trains of the Eastern Railway and local trains of the Southeastern Railway. Platform numbers 17 to 23 are in the new Terminal 2, serving long-distance trains of the Southeastern Railway.

Transportation to Howrah Railway Station


Nowadays, only Metro Line 1 is in service. Metro Line 2, which connects Howrah Station with Sealdah Station and Metro Line 1, is expected to begin operation in June, 2018.


17A, 17, L16, 17B, 12A, 12C

Taxi & Tuk-Tuk

If you are looking for a point-to-point means of transportation in the city, you can take a taxi or tuk-tuk. These are more flexible than metro and bus. For long-distance journeys, pre-paid AC taxi is recommended.

2. Sealdah Railway Station

  • Station code: SDAH
  • Address: Bepin Behari Ganguly Street, Raja Bazar, Kolkata
  • Size: 20 platforms, 20 tracks

Operating since 1862, Sealdah Railway Station is one of the four major stations in Kolkata, as well as one of the busiest and most crowded stations in India.

There are three terminals in Sealdah: Main Terminal, South Terminal and North Terminal. Each terminal has different platforms. Sealdah Main Terminal serves long-distance mail and express trains. The South Terminal serves mainly local trains.

Transportation to Sealdah Railway Station

St. Paul's Cathedral, Kolkata

St. Paul's Cathedral, Kolkata


After completion in June, 2018, Metro Line 2 will pass through Sealdah Railway Station, linking Sealdah with Howrah Railway Station.


11, 12, 13, 14/1, 18B, 18C, 21, 122, 176, 178, 185, 211/A/1, 217, 221, 227, 230, S12, S16, S22, S25, S35, T-4, T-6

3. Kolkata Railway Station

  • Station code: KOAA
  • Address: Raicharan Sadhukhan Road, Kolkata
  • Size: 5 platforms, 5 tracks

Newly commissioned in 2006, Kolkata Railway Station was once called Chitpur Station. Compared to Howrah and Sealdah Stations, Kolkata Station is relatively small. In addition to the lines connecting Kolkata to other cities of India, this station serves suburban trains to Kolkata Airport and international trains to Bangladesh.

Transportation to Kolkata Railway Station


S32, S32A, AC10, 24B, 71, 30B, 215, L238

4.Shalimar Railway Station

  • Station code: SHM
  • Address: Ticket Counter Road, Kazipada, Shalimar, Howrah
  • Size: 2 platforms, 2 tracks

Built in 2000, Shalimar is a small railway station located in Howrah, far from the city center. The station is less crowded and less well-maintained than Howrah and Sealdah Stations. It mainly serves trains to the north and east of Kolkata.

Related Articles

You Might Like

indian railway train types
Delhi - Kolkata Railway

More than 10 trains running between Delhi, capital of Indian, and Kolkata, India’s fourth largest city.

Read More
indian railway train types
4 Facts on India Railway Travel

To avoid embarrassment, we will introduce what to expect when you’re travelling by train in India.

Read More
Indian train
Railway Stations in Delhi-Stations,Transportation

There are 5 major railway stations in Delhi,the capital of India. Location and transportation tips.

Read More