Home The Akita Shinkansen

The Akita Shinkansen

The Akita Shinkansen is a mini-shinkansen rail line connecting two major cities in Northeast Japan: Morioka in Iwate Prefecture and Akita in Akita Prefecture.

The Akita Shinkansen is a branch of the Tohoku Shinkansen. Trains on the Akita Shinkansen can run further to Tokyo via the Tohoku Shinkansen, with the shortest travel time of 3 hours 37 minutes.

Basic Information

  • Japanese: 秋田新幹線/あきたしんかんせん
  • Operated by: JR East
  • Length: 127 kilometers (79 miles)
  • Top speed: 130 kph (81 mph)
  • Terminals: Morioka Station, Akita Station
  • Stops along the way: Morioka, Shizukuishi, Tazawako, Kakunodate, Omagari, Akita

Trains Running on the Akita Shinkansen

There is only one type of train in service on the Akita Shinkansen — the Komachi train. Komachi trains are E6 series trains, which have a maximum speed of 130 kph (81 mph).

History of the Akita Shinkansen

  • 1997: The Akita Shinkansen began operation.
  • 2006: Affected by natural disasters, the Akita Shinkansen was taken out of service twice.
  • 2007: Smoking was prohibited on all trains.
  • 2013: The new E6 series electric cars were put into service.

You Might Like

tokyo station
Tokyo Station

Tokyo Station is one of the largest and busiest train stations in Japan. Over 3,000 trains stop at this station per day.

Read More
japanese seat class
Seat Classes on Japanese Train

Trains in Japan offer three classes of seat: ordinary seat, green car seat and gran class seat.

Read More
japan rail pass
Japan Rail Pass

If you plan to take trains in Japan, JR Pass is an incredibly good value for money and can save you a lot of hassle.

Read More